My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

This book was intense, but really good. I personally just love stories about families, so this book attracted me because of that reason.  I loved the narrator, 10-year-old Jamie, and hearing the story from his perspective is I think what made me really get into the book. The death of his sister (the one who ‘lives on the mantelpiece’), is of course one of the huge things that Jamie and the rest of the family are dealing with. But this is not the only thing facing the family. The dad drinks all the time, Jamie and Sunya get picked on at school, the parents are separated, the older sister Jas rebels in her own way, and more.

I also think this book is interesting because the way Rose died was based on real bombings in London. I think it could be cool to compare this and the reactions to the terrorist attacks in America on 9/11.

I think middle school students would really enjoy this book (even though it is sort of depressing), and I am almost positive that every single one of them could relate to at least one of the characters or situations in some way. I would love to have it in my classroom.  

One thought on “My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

  1. It is a tough book, and that is only increased by the connection to a real historical event that shaped so many of our lives. I do think that there are a lot of conversations lurking in this book that would be fascinating to have with young readers.

    I’ve enjoyed the conversations you’ve shared here on your blog as well! Thanks for making it such a warm and engaging place to visit.

Leave a Reply

